It’s a go…..almost.

Okay, so I talked to Luis and he said the oncologist gave him the okay to deploy in March as long as he makes it to Germany in July and January for his scans and stays in an office job. So basically everything is great because he already talked to the Sergeant Major and he said that would be fine. We are on the last leg of trying to get him deployed, now we just need him to be placed back with his unit, which we should find out soon enough. J and D are so excited, J is excited because now she’ll have her bff going through this with her and D is excited because he’ll have Luis with him in Iraq and D needs him because D HATES Iraq. I know this sounds silly but I’m starting to feel like an army wife again. I kind of feel like I lost my identity for while, things were so hectic when he was going through the med board process. I know I shouldn’t let my husband’s job define me as a person but it is a huge part of who I am. A lot of people don’t understand why we wanted him to go back to Iraq, even some of our military friends don’t get it. When we got married he was already in the army and I made the choice to be an army wife, it was a life I WANTED. I’m a fairly independant person, part of this is because my father wasn’t around much when I was young so I learned to do a lot of things myself, my mom taught me how to take care of myself without a man around and I think it kind of stuck with me. This caused a lot of problems between Luis and I when we first got married, I did everything and he felt like he wasn’t needed, but we learned to use that to our advantage. He understands now that its best that he isn’t needed because he doesn’t worry about me when he’s deployed or in the field, he knows I can handle anything that comes my way. He also understands now that just because he isn’t needed it doesn’t mean that he isn’t wanted and that is what is most important. So we’re excited about him getting to deploy again because it gives us a little bit of our life back. We know its going to be harder this time because we have kids now and last time I was just pregnant but our kids are strong and they can handle it. We still have 3 years that he has to remain cancer-free in order to completely resume life as usual but this gives us a little taste of our old life and we’ll take what we can get.

1 Comment

  1. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO YAY! This is me jumping up and down!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment